Second Prejury

Our studies were continue non-stop. Our second prejury was at 6th of December. We were asked to produce a model with 50 elements with using the models we had already produced with 6-10 elements as generator for new construct. I used my “dominance of stick” model because I discovered good relations with it and I realized that it was useful for my strategy which is producing a model goes through two dominant directions.  I did not use my first prejury model’s strategy which is connecting two groups with creating a linearity between. Because I could not improve it according to this new tear&fold operation and I think that my new strategy will help me more to produce something easily.

I realize that with a long stick it is so easy to create a dominant direction. Also with tear&fold operation I define the stick’s direction. Thus, I used tear&fold for a good purpose. However at that model I could not make a transition zone between two directions. So my next step was making this transition. After that my prejury model was ready.

We also made orthographic and axonometric drawings of the models.

I also draw my important planes and lines from my orthographic drawing’s top view to express my guiding principles.

These important planes and sticks are the ones which are defining the direction and providing  the transition. I also show my tear&fold planes with these drawings. Besides these, there is a diagram to explain my strategy which help and guide me during the processing time.

METADATA-/scanq/scantofile0054.tif

With my diagram I try to explain my two dominant directions and the functions of the tear&folds. Also at every view my model has a upper and a down part. I try to show this but the shape at the left was not successful to explain this but the circles and the rectangles at the diagram explain this well I think.

Then we were asked to make an expressive collage with our axonometric drawing and the photo of the model. I choose a photo which has a different view from the axonometric drawing.

ass11_zeyneptugtekin

I again coloured my important, directional planes. While getting together the photo and the drawing I consider the both of them are through the same dominant direction. I think that this was a difficult assignment because I could not understand what I should consider  to collage.

Finally jury day has come. It was a good jury. I could explain all the things that I wanted to explain.

After critics I understand that I should focus on the inter relations more. Because I was just studying considering the whole without making similar relations which make my model more understandable and look as one.

Leave a comment