First Prejury

Finally, our very first jury had come. It was at 11 November. For jury we had to create a 3D construct with 25 elements (lines and planes together) which has a new operation: scale – stretch. Besides copy, move and rotate operations, this new operation allows us to not get stuck with same lines and planes which has same width and length.

While we were doing first trial, I realize that despite scale – stretch help me to create new relations, it has difficulties to control the whole.

At my first trial I have discovered good relations. Therefore I did  not do too many changes at my main jury model.

I think the most difficult part is locating the lines  according the relations between line & line and line & plane. Lines should be part of the construct, they should not seem separate from the whole. I tried to do my best however still my lines have some problems. Also two sides of my construct became too aligned. Therefore after jury I revised my model according to these weaknesses. However I did not afford enough so my revise did not become good.

We also drew our jury models’ orthographic drawings from top view and two side views. I drew planes as 1 mm and lines as 2 mm. It was hard to follow all parts of the construct because of the overlapped parts. We had to draw even the invisible parts as dashed lines . I have made an effort to not miss any plane or line. Finally, I drew it very well I think.

METADATA-/scanq/scantofile0063.tif

Besides the orthographic drawing, we had to draw a diagram which shows our strategy, our aim while doing the model.

first-prejury-diagram

At my model I have two parts which have similar relations and these parts connect each other with creating a dominant linearity in between. Also the circles on my diagram shows my lines and their mission such as connecting the two parts without disturbing the linearity in the middle.

My very first jury was exciting. I was nervous but I get relaxed after few minutes. It was nice. I have expressed myself clearly and instructors gave me very good critic to improve myself.

Leave a comment